I Cry For Batman

Hey…..I’m back.

Its tough to write when you don’t have the time; or the internet at your apartment. But there’s a few things I’ve been meaning to get to:

First things first: I hope you’ve been having a nice summer. Mine has been fine, thank you.

Now, on to more important matters:

HEY! I FINALLY SAW DARK KNIGHT!

Sure did. And not only that…..I saw it on Imax. I headed up to the Jordan’s Furniture in Reading on a Friday morning at 10am. A couple notes here: Believe it or not, I was born and raised in New England…..and never set foot into a Jordan’s until last Friday. As a Bostonian/New Englander, I feel like I should lose a little bit of creditbility (spelled wrong) here. I mean, seriously, who didn’t go to M.O.M. back in the ’90s, besides my sheltered ass (I think its funny that I’m saying I was sheltered because I never went to a furniture store). But its true….most Bostonians, and people within 100 miles of the city, have been to Jordan’s at some point.

Anyway, I drove up 95 on a bright Friday morning, pulled off the highway, road about a block, and there it was: glittering in the sun, its windows sparlking like some magic castle, was Jordan’s Furniture.  And honestly:  it was sort of cool pulling up.  I got there at about 9:30, and the parking lot was pretty much empty, cause the store wasn’t open yet.  Stepping out of car, I could see the sun popping out over the trees below (Jordan’s is on top of a really big hill, or small mountain, depending on where your from).  I hate to say it:  standing in the Jordan’s parking lot, no one else around, watching the sun come out: it was kinda cool.  Now I’ll re-read that sentence, realize that I was admiring the sun come up from the Jordan’s Furniture parking lot, and re-evaluate my life.

Anyway: I think I was pumped for Batman.  Who wouldn’t be?  I mean, a couple weeks ago, I met some dude who has the Batman logo tatooed on his shoulder (not joking, folks).  It just seems like Batman has swallowed this summer whole, but in a good way.  I enjoy the hype, and I wouldn’t even call it that: whatever it is, its been a little more subtle than hype (like, you know our movie is good, come see it….you don’t wanna be the only one to miss it).

For the next 2.5 hours, I was treated to absolute movie heaven.  The last time I was in an Imax was at the Omni (Museum of Science), and as cool as the Omni is, most shows are geared for 12 year olds, and no longer than a half hour.  As we all sat in the theatre, listening to crappy music and watching the colors change patterns on the blank screen, there was just this buzz about the place: it was great.

The movie itself: well, I’m sure you’ve heard or seen it by now.  It was easily one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.  Its also geared for Imax, so if you can, see it there.  A couple notes:

– Well, people weren’t lying: Heath Ledger played an incredible Joker.  His character should immediately be immortalized with the most evil movie villains of all-time.  I’m still trying to wrap my mind around him: in my opinion, he was slightly more evil than Hannibal Lector, only because Hannibal cooperated with Claurice.  The Joker didn’t cooperate with no one: dude was straight Gansta.

You don’t see a performance like this everyday.  And yes: the fact that Ledger is now, well, dead, spins the mind infinitely.  Very Spellbinding.  Although very sad, if only for this: we will never see this marvelous character on the screen again.

-Another note:  No way this movie should have been rated PG-13; it was R all the way.  There was no nudity, no bad swears (that I remember), and no gore.  But just because there is no gore, doesn’t mean there isn’t graphic violence.  This was one of the most graphically violent films I’ve ever seen.  Its the Texas Chainsaw Massacre effect: despite a lack of gore (because you don’t actually see it happen), the violence is there, and its graphic.  For this, I LOVED THE MOVIE.  I LOVE BAD ASS, GRAPHIC SHIT.  THIS MOVIE WAS F**KING DARK AS HELL, AND NO HOLDS BAR.  I WOULDN’T ASK FOR ANYTHING MORE.

I’m just saying…..the studios pulled some strings to get a PG-13 rating.  Way to go, fellas.

-I also wanna say: at the very end, as the the movie finally blossomed into the beautifully dark flower that is, I cried a single tear.  I held it back; as the lights came on, no one could tell that the random dude by himself with a beard growing in around a mustache had been crying.  But it was true: I accidentally let a tear slip by, as I often do.

So, to wrap it up:  see The Dark Knight if you like great, great movies, that don’t give a shit what Summer Blockbusters are supposed to be.  And if you don’t like these movies: then don’t talk to me.

Until Next Time,

Greg

Leave a Reply

