I Like Philosophy (Part 1); A REALLY COOL GAME TO PLAY (Part 2)

“I am so stupid

That I cannot understand philosophy;

The antithesis of this is

That philosophy is so clever that it cannot comprehend my stupidity;

These antitheses are meditated in a higher unity;

in our common stupidity.”

-Soren Kierkegaard

“All I know is that I know nothing.”

-Socrates

What’s up people,

Friday night, I decided to write. Lately, I haven’t been able to write much, and when I do, its not as long-winded as before. But I got my thoughts out there: that’s all that matters. I wrote about all sorts of stuff: a radio show, some crappy blog group I joined, and ohh ya, philosophy.

Here’s an actual quote that I wrote: ““Just so everyone knows my feelings on Philosophy: I think its stupid. Why should listen to what some so-called “Sophicate” had to say about life, 2,000 years ago? What the Hell would Plato know about, say, computers, or cars? Jack shit, that’s what!! And just so everyone knows: just about everything that ever came out of Aristotle’s mouth was horseshit.”

Well….even I didn’t know I felt that strongly about the subject. Must of been those two coffees with milk and sugar that helped open up my aggressive attitude (maybe I can blame the coffee on why I spelled ‘Sophisticate’ as ‘Sophicate” as well).

Anyway, one of my a readers, and a good friend, who happens to be chilling in Thailand at the moment, left me a pretty hot-blooded response. Here it is:

“People are still talking about Aristotle’s work 2000 years later. Something tells me at this pace nobody will be talking about your blog ever…
PS what the hell do you know about computers and cars???”

Ouch…..that shit was HARSH! But, he is right….although old Stotle was wrong a lot of the time (not backing down here, sorry), to say that everything he ever said was horseshit, is, well, horseshit. So to anyone who read this and has a special place in there heart for that Greek dude Aristotle, here is my formal apology:

“Dear Aristotle Fans,

I am very sorry. Although Aristotle wrongly believed that men had more teeth than women, and although he shot down Democritus’s brillant hypothesis that the Milky Way was in fact light from distant stars, he did have some great ideas, one of them being that we gain knowledge through our five senses, and he also educated Alexander the Great, who went on to conquer more land than any other military general ever, excluding Ghenghis Khan and his grandson. I was way out of line in dissing Aristotle: there is absolutely no way people will be talking about me in 2,000 years, but they may still be talking about Aristotle 2,000 years from today.

There, I said it…I’m sorry.”

I also dissed Plato in my rant, cause the guy didn’t know anything about cars or computers…..umm, yah, I’m gonna blame this one on the coffee again. Plato in no way deserved any flack.

Whatever…..I’ve talked about this crap way too much. A couple more thoughts before I go:

I spent the last few days in northern Vermont (I’m on vacation if you’re reading this at work…..don’t mean to rub it in or anything, but…..

I’M ON VACATION, HOORAY!!!

I’M ON VACATION, TODAY!!!

I HAVE NO WORK, JUST PLAY!!!

I’M A JERK, BUT HEY!!!!

I’M ON VACAAAAAAATION!!!!!).

Vacation, yo.

A few things I forgot about, in no particular order:

  • The air is freaking clean up there. Even in the town of Burlington, which has about 40,000 people, its wicked clean. I love Boston and everything, but it can get a bit hazy.
  • It’s also colder. I forgot about that. It drops to like 50 every night; during the day its about the same. Makes me not miss living there in the winter.
  • All Dunkin’ Donuts in Vermont suck. This needs to be known.
  • New World Tortilla is the bomb. Just had to get that out there.

Alright…..before I go to do whatever the Hell I want for the rest of the day, I’m going to leave you with a little game to play. Here’s the deal:

Awhile ago, I decided to write a series of posts about what original Nintendo games had the best music. I posted a couple, but honestly, I don’t think they came out that great. So instead, I’ve invented a game.

I’m going to post two videos below. Each one has popular Nintendo game on it with fantastic music. All you have to is this: take 5 minutes aside and give them a listen. Then wait about an hour. After the hour has passed, observe for the following:

Is the song(s) still stuck in your head?

Is one song overpowering the other?

Did both songs fail the test?

I think the more efficient way to do this would be to listen to one, wait an hour, and then listen to the other, and see which one gets more stuck in one’s head. But hey, however you wanna do it, do it.

If you decide that one song is more addictive than the other, or that they both sucked, or that I suck at life and my blog is a piece of shit……hey, drop me line! I’m interested to see the results.

Here they are:

Until Next Time,

Greg

One thought on “I Like Philosophy (Part 1); A REALLY COOL GAME TO PLAY (Part 2)

  1. Jay says:

    Last comment was written after a 5 bottles of beer lunch. The point of it wasn’t about Aristotle, the name was used as an example from the post. Really, its that you were going to a bloggers meeting that didn’t happen to meet and ran into some Philosophy group instead. By then shitting on philosophy your at the same time shitting on those guys who like to sit there and talk about it.
    As for the whole never talking about the blog ever thing…I seem to post more than anyone so obviously those were just some spiteful mid-day drunken words, at best.

    wink, wink, Love, Love peace and other good things…
    ps enjoy your vacation

Leave a Reply

