A Quick Review: The Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Hi, as some of you know, I worked at Earthfest yesterday and attended an All-Access VIP party afterword (hell yah!). I plan on writing about that tommorrow….hopefully.

In the meantime, here is a quick review of The Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater.

About a month ago, someone walked into the office where I work and said that we had free tickets to the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater show, would anyone like to go? The tickets usually went for about $70. I took two, and tried to find someone else to go with, but after a few phone calls, found out I was flying solo.

The show was at the Wang Center in Boston’s Theatre District; its one of the nicest venues in town. I showed up a little late, but the show was still great (I had to watch the first set through the windows since I was late; I’m not used to the theatre, I thought it was like a movie where you could walk right in.).

To describe the show: The dance company was formed in Harlem in the late 1950s: most performances consist of different dance routines to certain composers. The show I saw was broken down into three different performances: An eight song set done entirely to music composed by Duke Ellington, called “The River.” It was absolutely breathtaking to watch: I had never really seen jazz dancing before, and it had me mesmorized, even if I was stuck behind the windows in the back. The first performance was set apart by vivid colors on the sets, and upbeat music that reminded me of spring and summer.

The second set, which I could watch from my seat, was called ‘The Golden Section,” and was one twenty minute piece composed by David Byrne. It was amazing in that it was entirely different: this was rock dancing, and was equally mesmorizing to watch. The colors from the first set were gone: the set was entirely gold.

The third and final set was “Revelations,” one of the groups oldest routines, first performed in the early 1960s. It was about six sets of traditional gospel music: of all the routines, it held me the most. It was beautiful to watch. The colors involved consisted of dull browns and pastels, creating a peaceful atmosphere.

After the show, they performed a pretty romping encore. The crowd was rocking. All in all, I am very glad to have been able to see this show, and someday, I don’t know when, I will see them again.

Until Next Time,

Greg

Leave a Reply

