Kurt Vonnegut Loved Spring….You Should Too

Quote of the Day, 5/2/07:

“To whom it may concern: It is springtime. It is late afternoon.”

-Kurt Vonnegut

This quote seems appropriate, since we lost Kurt Vonnegut recently, and since we are now in the midst of spring. Kurt Vonnegut always seems like one of those writers that I should have read much more of by this time in my life: I’ve only read one book by him, Cat’s Cradle. I read it in the 7th grade for a book report that was supposed to be on science fiction: my dad bought me the book for the report, along with Farenheit 411, after I told him I needed a science fiction book. I remember him telling me that the girl at the store said these two were perfect. Obviously, somewhere along the lines, the process of communication was snapped: science fiction turned into social satire. But the good thing is that is that I was able to read two of the most well-known social satires out there (the problem: I read them both in the 7th grade, when I was about 5 years to young to understand what the hell was going on).

But I remember a clear distinction between the two at the time: I found Farenheit 411 to be boring; and I found Cat’s Cradle to be the wackiest, craziest, and one of the funniest books I’ve ever read (I want to make this clear: I picked up Farenheit 411 about a year ago and was mesmorized. I don’t find it boring: rather, the 7th grade version of me found it boring, which is totally understandable.). The really funny part was that the book went about 700 feet over my head: but I loved the wackiness and the jokes. I remember giving an oral book report and pretty much claiming that it had no point at all but was great: after describing it, my 7th grade English teacher told me: “I remember reading this in college, Greg. Maybe you should wait a few years and re-read it.” I have looked it over again since then, and yes, now I understand what the point of the book was.

The real point to this rambling: I don’t know how I haven’t read more Vonnegut. He’s right up my alley. I mean, I didn’t get anything that he was talking about in the 7th grade (I thought he was a lunatic), but I still loved him. I’ve been meaning to read Breakfast of Champions or Slaughterhouse-5 for awhile now. Ofcourse, between blogging, reading magazines, and reading other blogs and online news, I really don’t have time to read books anymore. But someday….I plan on reading some Vonnegut.

But the real reason I started writing about Vonnegut was because I put that spring quote up there. The reason I put the spring quote up there: well, because I love spring, and since we’re smack dab in the middle of it, I figured I’d address it: Here are

5 REASONS WHY MAY IS A GREAT TIME TO BE ALIVE

1) Its not too hot, and not too cold: Its jeeeeeeeeeeeest right. Seriously. I think my favorite month of the year is probably June (1: because its my birthday; 2: because I like it when its about 75 degrees, but you still have that nice, springtime breeze), but May is like that month that you just can’t not like. If you don’t like hot weather: well, its not too hot yet; you can’t even go to the beach. But its warm enough for t-shirts. I’ve always looked at spring like this:

March is great sweatshirt weather: There’s still snow on the ground, and its still cool in the air, but hey, I don’t have to wear a coat anymore!! Screw it; I’m going outside with a sweatshirt on!!

April is great light coat weather (sort of a step up from March; honestly, I’ve never been a huge April fan).

May is great t-shirt weather.

And June is great T-shirt and shorts weather, right before its to the point that its too hot to be fun anymore.

So May is great t-shirt weather…..enjoy it!!!

2) Its probably the best time of the year to watch sports. I know some of you out there aren’t sports fans, but here me out: Yes, everyone knows that its baseball season. Here in Boston, you can’t walk down the street without seeing something Red Sox related. But I’ll tell you a secret: I’m not much of a baseball fan. Don’t get me wrong; I like the game. I play in a softball league. But I just can’t watch it. And I get annoyed that the local sports radio stations literally become Red Sox Nation Central at this time of year. Honestly, I can’t wait for football to start, so I can watch Randy Moss. But none of this has to do with what I’m talking about.

There are two professional sports league that I really don’t follow at all during the fall, winter, and early spring: the NBA (basketball) and the NHL (hockey). These leagues, from my standpoint, are pretty mundane during the regular season: I’d discuss this in more detail right now, but I’d like to move on. The main point here:

The Playoffs Rock Regarding These Two Sports. And during the month of May: we are in the midst of both playoffs. Sure, theres more at stake in June. But there’s more games right now.

Just last night I watched one of the most exciting basketball game I have ever seen between the Golden State Warriors and the Dallas Mavericks. For those who don’t know: Dallas is the number one team in the league, and were down 3-1 in the series to the underdog Warriors. Dallas also has the league MVP (Dirk Nowitzki), who is struggling mightily. I’m still upset that I missed Friday nights game played in Oakland (I was hanging with friends who were watching the Sox). But last nights game was incredible. Because its on the West Coast, I stayed up until 12:30 on a work night to watch the Warriors lose in Dallas (I really wanted them to win, but they just couldn’t pull it off). Tommorrow I’ll be up till 12:30am watching again.

But the reason I love this stuff: its the best basketball/hockey players in the world, playing their absolute hearts out. Bodies fly around; emotions are seen. Both of these leagues lack emotion during the regular seasons, due in part to the large number of games they play. But right now: watching these two sports reminds us why at one time, a long, long time ago, hockey and basketball were consistently exciting.

3) This may the best part of May: it is officially Bar-B-Q season.

Some could make the argument for April, but honestly, April is too inconsistent: it might rain, it might be cold, hell, it might even snow. There’s too much mud on the ground. The sun isn’t quite warm enough. So the coals aren’t really lit up.

But enter May: We start seeing for the first time, picture perfect weather. And walking around on the weekend, you might smell charcoal smoke, cooking burgers, or maybe even the faint aroma of beer.

Sadly, I really haven’t lived in opitum grilling areas for the past two years: But a couple years ago, while living in Vermont, my roomate and I took ample advantage of the grilling season.

I have to say: there is no better feeling than having people over for the first time in the Spring, for the first big bar-b-q of the year. And that first bar-b-q: its usually in May.

4) This is my final reason why spring is great: spring clothing. Winter can be looked at as a type of hibernation: we hide ourselves in bundles of clothes, and stay indoors. We cover up skin at all costs. As we enter April, the jackets start to go: but its not until May that we truly see spring clothes truly blossom: tanks tops, shorts, sunglasses, sandals, flip-flops, ripped t-shirts, whatever. Spring means more skin, and less clothes. This is good.

5) My fifth and final reason to love May: spring concerts. I’ll say no more. I you haven’t been to outdoor music festival in the spring….go.

Alright, I’m out for now, be back later.

Until Next Time,

Greg

Leave a Reply

